George Clayson House Museum

George Clayson House is located at 224 E Palatine Rd, Palatine, IL 60067. This home was constructed in 1873 and restored to its 1890-1900 appearance. It features an extensive collection of artifacts and is a perfect place to visit for a day trip or a family outing.

The museum has a number of children's activities and programs. You can drop by to make a craft or meet Clayson, the family dog. These events are suitable for ages 4-12. Children must be accompanied by an adult. This museum features a unique collection of artifacts and displays of the history of the area.

The Clayson House was originally built in 1873 as a home for the nurseryman George Clayson. During his lifetime, he was also a member of the Palatine Village Board. It has been owned by the Palatine Park and Library Districts since 1976. It is also home to the Palatine Historical Society. Restoration of the building was completed in the mid-1970s as part of the town's bicentennial celebrations. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on March 21, 1979. It was opened to the public on October 7, 1979.

After moving to Chicago in 1862, Clayson started a photography business on Clark Street and eventually bought ten acres of land from Palmer Webster. He used the land for a nursery and grew fruit trees and grapes. In 1869, he was elected trustee of the village and lived on Benton Street. He had two children, Charles and Frank.

The George Clayson House Museum is located at 224 East Palatine Road in Palatine, Illinois. Visitors can learn about the history of the community and explore its past. Contact the museum for more information. If you want to learn about the life of the Clayson family, this is a great place to visit.

In 1889, the Claysons advertised their Nunda property for sale. The advertisement noted that the property had a good well and cistern, as well as a splendid cellar. It was also an 11-acre farm with vineyard and berries. The family left Nunda for Phoenix in January 1885 and sold the house a few months later. The house was later bought by a family and rented to another family.

During his years of life, Clayson was an active pioneer in the Phoenix area. His investments included building a hotel and a nursery. He was also active in the Methodist church and Masons. He also spent time with the I.O.O.F. (Oddfellows) and was also a Mason.  Click for more

Visitors can visit the George Clayson House Museum to see antiques and enjoy the garden. There is also a historic carriage house and shed containing historic tools. In addition, the town has its main park, Community Park, which is near the Village Hall. The park has a skateboard park and a family aquatic center. A great post

Call Today to Enjoy Expert Craftsmanship

Contact Barrington Roof Doctors, Inc., today for hitch-free roof repair and installation. We are the roofing contractor to trust for a roof that will last decades. Call (847) 404-9801 to book your free inspection in or around Barrington, IL.

Connect with Us

Check out our social pages or our reviews page for updates on what we have going on!

Contact Us

  • Barrington Roof Doctors, Inc.
  • North Barrington, IL 60010
  • Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 5:00pm
  • Saturday: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Scroll to Top